Easy pretzels

I’m almost glad I’ve only just learnt how simple pretzels are to make because I’d have made an extortionate amount of them by now, which is probably not the best idea considering my current attempts at being healthy. However, after a great exam result last week I thought I deserved a treat. It’s been a while since I’ve dabbled in bread so I decided I couldn’t resist any longer. The choice was between bagels and pretzels and I didn’t have any cream cheese to build the ultimate bagel so pretzels it was! The bagels will likely come soon so keep an eye out!

What I love about this recipe is the very reduced waiting time. Most recipes for types of bread require a hefty amount of proofing, and if you’re particularly unlucky, double proofing may even be required. This recipe calls for just 30 minutes of waiting altogether, which is perfect time to clean up your station or grab a quick mid-bake snack. Efficiency is obviously key here.

I split my dough in half to make two types of pretzels: cinnamon sugar, and garlic and herb butter. Both equally delicious! Find the recipe for both below. Enjoy!

Pretzels

  • Servings: 10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Rating: ★★★★★
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3.5 cups flour
  • 325ml warm water
  • 1 sachet yeast (7g)
  • 450g flour
  • 4tbsp soft brown sugar
  • 1tbsp butter
  • 50g baking soda (for the water bath)
  • For the garlic butter

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1tsp salt (I used chilli garlic salt
  • 1 grated garlic clove
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 tsp basil
  • For the cinnamon sugar

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp butter

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven at 200ºC. In a jug, combine the yeast and water. Set aside for 5 mins.
  2. Mix your dry ingredients together, and then add your yeast mixture. Mix until just combined and a shaggy dough has formed.
  3. Turn your dough out onto a clean surface, add your melted butter and knead until the dough is smooth to the touch. Place into a bowl and cover. Let rise in a warm environment for 25 minutes. About 20 minutes in, start boiling a big pot of water with your baking soda
  4. Once risen, split into 10, roll into long rolls and twist into a pretzel shape. Place onto a baking sheet and cover for 5 mins.
  5. Put your pretzels one at a time into your boiling water, cooking them for 30s each side.
  6. Place onto a baking sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes or until a deep golden brown.
  7. Brush your pretzels in their respective butters, then toss your cinnamon sugar pretzels in the sugar mixture.
  8. Plate and serve!

Leave a comment